I got an email today where someone left a comment asking what I believe in now.

I don’t really feel the need to obsess anymore about mormonism, so I (obviously) haven’t posted on this blog in a very long time. But I don’t want to leave my curious questioner hanging, so here I am, making a brief reappearance.

I believe in goodness. Honesty. Kindness. Love. Laughter. Joy. Truth. Friendship. 

I don’t have any opinion on the existence of a god or gods. I figure that what happens after I exit this life will make itself plain once I exit this life. Contrary to the opinions of some good mormons I know, the lack of a belief in any kind of a god didn’t automatically turn me into an immoral so-and-so who lies, cheats, steals, and does all manner of inquities. It turns out that believing in a god was never what kept me from doing those things to begin with. 

I believe in living with integrity. This was something I strived for as an active mormon and never felt I achieved, because I was always painfully conscious of how poorly I measured up to what were supposed to be my beliefs and standards. Now I can honestly say that my beliefs and standards are right in line with  my words and actions. That’s a great feeling, let me tell you.

I believe in living a good life, and being a good person, because that’s the kind of person I want to be. I’m motivated out of love, and out of a desire to be a positive influence in the world, instead of out of fear.

I hope that helps answer your question. If it doesn’t, or if you have more questions, please don’t hesitate to leave another comment, or you may also email me at aintnomonomo(at)gmail(dot)com.

Peace out.

