I don’t know why I feel compelled to switch between The Book of Mormon musical, Chicago, and Wicked on my iPod. I actually listen to Wicked less than I normally would, because for some reason it loaded itself into multiple albums, instead of just being the Wicked cast recording. And Chicago, well, I’m always good for a couple of rounds of “Cell Block Tango,” but usually once I’ve listened to it all the way through, I’m done.

But the Book of Mormon musical–dang, I can listen to that over and over and over and over. It makes me laugh. And it’s sweet. And it’s raunchy as all get-out.  And sometimes I get goosebumps when I’m listening to it. Does that mean it’s true?

There is a potentially severe side-effect, however, of listening to the cast recording over and over and over and over. I have found myself walking through the office with a particularly raunchy earworm that I can’t get rid of. Heaven help me if I ever sing that out loud in just the wrong place. Maybe that’s why I like listening to it in my car. I can sing the filthiest bits at the top of my lungs and no one can hear me. I will confess, however, that due to not wanting to get lynched by people who would be offended if they heard Hasa Diga Eebowai coming from my car, I do turn that one down when I’m driving through a parking lot.

Anyway, yeah.  My earworm is from the song “Joseph Smith, the American Moses.” It’s the part referring to Brigham Young. And that’s all I’ll say.

